The Lompoc Rotary Club made a $40,000 donation to The Lompoc Theatre Project on Monday, August 8, 2022. “We have been wanting to make a substantial donation for a long time,” said Heather Bedford, Lompoc Rotary President. “We chose them to be the biggest recipient of this year’s annual fundraiser, held February 27th,  because they are going to be starting their capital campaign soon, and we want to help them reach their goals of revitalizing the downtown area,” she added.
“The Lompoc Theatre Project threw themselves whole heartedly into our event, selling tickets, getting sponsors, collecting silent and live auctions, and funding the VIP Bubbles Reception.  On the day of the event, their board of directors showed up to help with everything from setting up to cleaning at the end of the night. We had a lot of fun working on the event with them     and are proud of what they have accomplished thus far. The theater will bring much needed arts and education programs for all the youth of Lompoc, as well as having a positive economic impact on our local economy, “Bedford stated.
“We are very excited to receive this generous donation,” stated Barbara Satterfield, Lompoc Theatre Project President, “It couldn’t come at a better time as we are making significant progress in our fundraising efforts. It means a lot to us that their club has faith that we can get the job done.”
The Rotary Club of Lompoc is a is a humanitarian organization which brings together business and professional leaders in order to provide community service, promote integrity, and advance goodwill, peace, and understanding in the world. It is a non-political and non-religious organization and the members are dedicated people who share a passion for both service and friendship. The club has made donations in the past several years to The Bridge House, Huyck Stadium, The Lompoc Hospital Foundation, as well as many others.
To become a member, visit their website:
Photo contributed by permission. Pictured left to right are: Rob Klug, Anne Ramsey, Barbara Satterfield, Karin Hauenstein, Heather Bedford, Mark Herrier and Jim Lowsley.