On Saturday, June 27, 2015, Rotarians from District 5240 gathered at the Radisson Santa Maria for the 2014-15 District Awards and District Governor Step Down Luncheon. The following awards were presented:

Best Overall Club of the Year - Moorpark

Best Large Club - San Luis Obispo de Tolosa


Best Medium Club - Moorpark


Best Small Club - Simi Sunset

District Rotarian of the Year - Edwin Velarde


Significant Achievement Award from Rotary International - Bakersfield North


Citation for Meritorious Service from The Rotary Foundation - PDG Wade Nomura

Robert "Jock" MacKenzie Leadership in Education Award - Jack Tingstrom


Dr. John Padilla Humanitarian Service Award - Heather Frankle


Samuel L. Greene Service Above Self Award - Savi Bhim

Avenues of Service Awards:

Club Service

Small Club - Simi Sunset
Medium Club - Moorpark
Large Club - Cambria

International Service

Small Club - Nipomo
Medium Club - Simi Valley
Large Club - Simi Sunrise

Community Service

Small Club - Nipomo
Medium Club - Santa Maria Breakfast
Large Club - San Luis Obispo de Tolosa

Vocational Service

Small Club - Cayucos Seaside
Medium Club - Atascadero
Large Club - Thousand Oaks

Youth Service

Small Club - Goleta Noontime
Medium Club - Santa Maria Breakfast
Large Club - Ventura

Rotaract Service

Small Club - Tehachapi
Medium Club - Carpinteria
Large Club - San Luis Obispo

Gold Clubs

Bakersfield North
Bakersfield West
Carpinteria Morning
Cayucos Seaside
China Lake
Morro Bay
Pismo Beach-Five Cities
San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo de Tolosa
Santa Maria
Santa Maria Breakfast
Simi Sunrise
Simi Sunset
Simi Valley
Thousand Oaks
Ventura South

Silver Clubs

Bakersfield Breakfast
Bakersfield East
Bakersfield Twilight
Conejo Valley
Five Cities-Eco
Goleta Noontime
Indian Wells Valley
Moorpark Morning
Paso Robles
SLO Daybreak
Westlake Village

Bronze Clubs

Grover Beach
Los Osos
Santa Barbara North
Vandenberg Village
Ventura East
Westlake Sunrise

After the awards were handed out, the transfer of pins occurred.

2014-15 District Governor Loretta Butts hands over the District Governor pin to 2015-16 District Governor Jim Bell
Donna Bell pins Jim with the District Governor pin
Jim Bell transfers the District Governor Elect pin to 2016-17 District Governor Nick Frankle
Nick Frankle transfers the District Governor Nominee pin to 2017-18 District Governor John Weiss
There's even a gavel that goes with the job too!
And finally the Home Club of the District Governor banner was transferred from the
Rotary Club of Atascadero to the Rotary Club of Bakersfield Twilight