The Rotary Club of Camarillo awarded college scholarships to nine deserving students on May 25, 2016.  Applications were invited from schools in the Camarillo area, including the two main high schools, the continuing education schools, the community college and CSUCI.  We are happy to announce that:
The Bill Kohagen Memorial Scholarship goes to Arielle Mendoza from Adolfo Camarillo High School.
The Tish Taylor Vocational Scholarship goes to Collin Kirksey from ACHS.
The Elaine Petterson Turnaround Scholarship goes to Christine Khann Le from Frontier High School.
The CSUCI Rotaract Student Scholarship goes to Mirna Garcia.
The Active Interact Student Scholarship goes to Samantha Tovar from ACHS.
The Phillip Gore Scholarship goes to Idalis Daisy Perez from Gateway High School. 
The Michael Lavenant Memorial Scholarship goes to Noah Amerault from ACHS.
The Scott Family Memorial Vocational Scholarship goes to Marissa Gonzales from ACHS.
The College Re-entry Scholarship goes to Julieanne Flores at Oxnard Community College.
Camarillo Rotary makes a special effort to award scholarships to students who exemplify the Rotary motto of "Service above Self."  The Scholarship Committee interviews each candidate to see how they are involved in helping others in the community.  
"Grades are important," says Past President Max Copenhagen, "but those with a need and a record of community service are considered favorably in our evaluation".
Rotary is an organization of business and professional leaders providing humanitarian service and building goodwill.  Rotarians have served the needs of communities worldwide since 1905.  Rotary clubs meet in Camarillo on Tuesdays for breakfast and on Wednesdays at noon.  For more information about Rotary, see